Search odaberi kategoriju

Varaždin Jazz Band: Those Red Flowers

Folk Songs from Međimurje
Those Red Flowers
Add to cart
Price: 9,95 € 74,97 kn VAT included
Dodaj u favorite »

Lukrecija Oreški, vocals  | Gordan Perši, saxophone, clarinet  | Petar Eldan, piano | Aleksandar Vešić, bass-guitar | Neven Mehun, drums


The CD To črleno cvetje (Those Red Flowers), the second album of Varaždin Jazz Band, contains folk songs from Međimurje rearranged by its members Petar Eldan, Aleksandar Vešić and Gordan Perši. They harmonized them, sometimes intervening in the rhythmic and metric features of the original, expanding them with introductions, interplays and endings, and revealing their loyalty to jazz through improvisations.  Although being the most obvious ones, jazz and traditional music are only some of the ensemble’s musical passions. In these recordings, they merge together with rock, bossa nova, tango and classical music. Many of the compositions were written in asymmetrical meters, with changes of meters being frequent as well.

(Davor Hrvoj) 

croatian / english

Popis skladbi: 

1. There’s Nothing More Beautiful Than Our Little Međimurje (arr. Petar Eldan)
2. The Wind (arr.  Petar Eldan)
3. Those Red Flowers/I Was a Rose (arr.  Gordan Perši) 
4. Međimurje, How Beautiful You Are (arr.  Petar Eldan)
5. Oh, You Grey Fog (arr.  Petar Eldan)
6. At Midnight (arr.  Petar Eldan)
7. The Whole Village Talks about It (arr.  Aleksandar Vešić)
8. Why Do You Wish to Die, Dove (arr.  Petar Eldan)
9. Farewell, Farewell Međimurje (arr.  Petar Eldan)
10. Oh Blackberry, Blackberry (aranžman Petar Eldan)
11. Used to Plant Roses Every Year (arr.  Petar Eldan)
12. Everything Comes to an End (arr.  Aleksandar Vešić) 

Cantus d.o.o., 2014.