Search odaberi kategoriju

Bergamo, Petar: Second Symphony

Opera sinfonica a due parti, quattro atti
Second Symphony
Add to cart
Price: 11,15 € 84,01 kn VAT included
Dodaj u favorite »
Second Symphony (1964) by Petar Bergamo is a large, in terms of a grandiose tonal fresca (with 4 trumpets, 4 horns, 6 trombones, 2 tubas, 6 timpani and other increased machinery), elaborated study of continuity. Its turgescent, incisive facture is made up of three basic sonorous layers: first one is the proper fundamental thought, coloured by the astonishing charge of chromatics, whose elastic tentacles also extend to many secondary, even pedally-harmonising areas; then the celebrated Wagner’s theme from Tristan in a twelve-tone range, which never acts Wagner-like, perhaps due to the incessant side supervision by the author’s main theme; finally, on the principle of palimpsest (old, parchment record that was taken and covered with new texts, but hauntingly continues to come back and penetrate over them as a doom) there are elements of older (Tchaikovsky: Fifth Symphony, Respighi: Pines of Rome) and more recent (Šostakovič: Seventh Symphony, Leningrad Symphony, Šulek: Second Symphony, Eroica) modernity.. ...
Dubravko Detoni


Cantus d.o.o., 2012.
Edition No: Can. 071-3155
ISMN 979-0-801333-15-5
Izdavanje ove partiture omogućeno je donacijom zaklade Adris iz Rovinja / The publication of this score was facilitated by the donation of Adris Foundation from Rovinj